>Bread to Distraction

>

Too many things at once; thoughts, conversations, to do’s, projects, chores, yes I have ADD. I’m easily distracted.

Oh look there’s a flower print on the bottom of my shoes.

What? OH sorry right, distraction.

The problem with multitasking is I often find I have started many things and failed to finish any of them. Or I begin talking about one subject and stray into so many other subjects without keeping track of where my mind is going that I forgot what I was initially trying to say.

I’m really trying to work on it, taming the monkey mind. It’s difficult believe me. Being an American makes it especially difficult as this is a country that has shifted into turbo drive and our culture now functions on how many minutes can we fit into each second; the fast and the furious is almost a religion in this country.

I have ADD… Did I already mention that? Sorry. So for me, concentrating and slowing down is like being The Little Engine that could; it takes will power, effort, and focused determination. Being an American built engine is like having the whole stinking Rocky Mountains AND Grand Canyon in my way.

I’m working on it though. I even took a long, long walk today for the only reason of taking a walk. I actually walked four miles and had no where to go, no where in mind and nobody chasing after me with fire sticks and maces. I even stopped to smell the flowers, literally, they were magnolias.
Crazy right?

But you know what they say about the best placed plans?

Well this is what happens when you forget you have dough rising in the oven and crank it up to 500 degrees.

Sigh… And right after my “refocus walk”.

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…

Where’s my tea?

Leave a comment