>My Kitchen Addictions

>It’s well known I need to invest in company stock or get help for my serious dependence on all things Apple.

What you may not know however is I have several other “infatuations” hiding in the drawers in my kitchen. I don’t think it’s fair to say they’re obsessions or addictions since any good cook knows you have to have the tools of the trade.
Medicine Man likes to refer to it as “my martial art”. He says cooking is my own form of Zen practice because Of how it soothes me.

Some women go ga-ga over a new pair of shoes, or jewelry or the idea of spending hours trolling the jungles of dressing rooms and clothing racks to emerge laden with packages, boxes and bags of new clothes.

EWWWWWW!!!!!

I dread shopping for clothes and would happily employ a fashion guru to measure me, buy my clothes and pick out my outfits each day. DRAG!

My kitchen is my sanctuary. The place I pay homage to names like Betty Crocker, Julia Childs and Le Cordon Bleu.

Today I found these, I needed them, I did….no I did seriously. I needed more. I had to throw the others ones out because they had been chewed, melted, chopped and mangled. It was time to replace them.

They’re by Nordic Ware and I just loved the colors! I picked up this four pack of large spatulas and in addition a three pack of adorable little matching ones.
Ok…I also picked up a set of two others that were specific to cake and frosting and had these super pretty clear handles.

Out with the old..in with the new.

These colorful little beauties will be added to the drawer entirely dedicated to wooden spoons and spatulas.

Please don’t ask me how many I have of those and in how many different shapes and sizes.

It’s really quite embarrassing.

Outside of cooking utensils I have to come clean with my other two……dependencies. Yes that is an appropriate name for them, well at least one of them.

Measuring cups. You have to have them. Cooking DEPENDS on them. You NEED them. And personally I am of the mind you can’t have enough. So here you are, here are SOME of my measuring instruments and I don’t feel the least bit guilty for any of them.

That’s nothing compared to some kithens I’ve seen. But if you’re not happily enslaved to your kitchen like many are, here’s a quick lesson for you (and justification for buying as many measuring cups, bowls and pinch pots as your hearts desire).

The most important thing you should do before cooking anything is to prepare your ingredients. The French refer to this as ” mis en place “. It means “established” or literally “put in place”.
The reason being is everything should be out and ready to add as soon as the recipe calls for it. This prevents overcooking, burning, coagulation or any other myriad of problems that are just waiting to spoil a wonderful dish.
The other reason is to ensure you don’t get half way through your recipe and find you are missing a key ingredient because everything will be “in place.”

I love them all dearly but the shot glasses are my favorite because they make measuring out small amount of liquid easy with no mess.

And yes you don’t have to say it….my camera and I were NOT getting along today. It’s really a love-hate relationship at this point.

This brings us to my WORSE addiction. I can’t help myself and other than using “mis en place” and the fact I love single serving sized dishes as an excuse…I have none for this….

(sigh)

I can’t help myself.

I LOVE ramekins. If butter were a dish…it would be a ramekin in my world. The only reason I don’t have more is I have no more space in my kitchen for them. I would have a whole pantry full of them if I could.

I would have them in every color of the rainbow, every shape and size imaginable and die happy.

The best thing you could do is keep me away from Amazon.com or Home Goods. ESPECIALLY Home Goods where they seem to have the more incredible rotating stock of ramekins.

See those with the scalloped edges up there? Just bought them a couple of weeks back and you don’t want to know how hard it was to walk out of the store with just the white. They came in purple, teal, red, yellow and green as well.

PAINFUL!

So there you have it. Those are my worst addictions in my kitchen…..but not my only ones.

Do you have cooking or kitchen obsessions?

Go on….admit them here.

I’m certainly not going to judge.
var gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded;(function(){var lib = null;var checkReadyCount = 0;function sendMessage(message, attrs) { var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode“); for (var p in attrs) { data.removeAttribute(p); } for (var p in attrs) { if (“undefined” != typeof attrs[p]) { data.setAttribute(p, attrs[p]); } } var evt = document.createEvent(“Events”); evt.initEvent(message, true, false); document.dispatchEvent(evt);}function checkLibReady (){ var ready = lib.isAvailable(); if (ready) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady“, {“gtbTranslateError” : false}); return; } if (checkReadyCount++ > 5) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady“, {“gtbTranslateError” : true}); return; } setTimeout(checkLibReady, 100);}gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded = function () { lib = google.translate.TranslateService({}); sendMessage(“{EVT_LOADED}”, {}, []); var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode“); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslate“, onTranslateRequest, true); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslateCheckReady“, onCheckReady, true); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslateRevert“, onRevert, true); checkLibReady();};function onCheckReady() { var ready = lib.isAvailable(); sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady“, {“gtbTranslateError” : !ready});}function onTranslateRequest() { var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode“); var orig = data.getAttribute(“gtbOriginalLang“); var target = data.getAttribute(“gtbTargetLang“); lib.translatePage(orig, target, onProgress);}function onProgress(progress, opt_finished, opt_error) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateOnProgress“, {“gtbTranslateProgress” : progress, “gtbTranslateFinished” : opt_finished, “gtbTranslateError” : opt_error});}function onRevert() { lib.restore();}})(); (function(){var d=window,e=document;function f(b){var a=e.getElementsByTagName(“head”)[0];a||(a=e.body.parentNode.appendChild(e.createElement(“head”)));a.appendChild(b)}function _loadJs(b){var a=e.createElement(“script”);a.type=”text/javascript”;a.charset=”UTF-8″;a.src=b;f(a)}function _loadCss(b){var a=e.createElement(“link”);a.type=”text/css“;a.rel=”stylesheet“;a.charset=”UTF-8″;a.href=b;f(a)}function _isNS(b){for(var b=b.split(“.”),a=d,c=0;c<b.length;++c)if(!(a=a[b[c]]))return!1;return!0}function _setupNS(b){for(var b=b.split(“.”),a=d,c=0;c<b.length;++c)a=a[b[c]]||(a[b[c]]={});return a}d.addEventListener&&typeof e.readyState==”undefined”&&d.addEventListener(“DOMContentLoaded“,function(){e.readyState=”complete”},!1);if (_isNS(‘google.translate.Element’)){return}var c=_setupNS(‘google.translate._const’);c._cl=’en’;c._cuc=’gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded’;c._cac=”;c._cam=’lib’;var h=’translate.googleapis.com’;var b=(window.location.protocol==’https:’?’https://&#8217;:’http://&#8217;)+h;c._pah=h;c._pbi=b+’/translate_static/img/te_bk.gif’;c._pci=b+’/translate_static/img/te_ctrl3.gif’;c._phf=h+’/translate_static/js/element/hrs.swf’;c._pli=b+’/translate_static/img/loading.gif’;c._plla=h+’/translate_a/l’;c._pmi=b+’/translate_static/img/mini_google.png’;c._ps=b+’/translate_static/css/translateelement.css’;c._puh=’translate.google.com’;_loadCss(c._ps);_loadJs(b+’/translate_static/js/element/main.js’);})();

Leave a Reply

