>Lemon Cream French Toast w/ Blueberry Compote

>I’ve been craving lemons lately. Not just any kind of lemon but something lemony and creamy. Every recipe I have thought of this week; every bread, cake, pudding or custard has involved the tasted of lemons.

If I didn’t know any better I would think I was pregnant. But I’m not.. yes I’m sure..whew.

What to make, what to make.

I had left over bread from the loaves I baked up earlier this week so the logical solution involved one of Medicine Man’s favorite breakfast foods; French Toast.

Do you think it was really invented in France or maybe by a French man? Maybe we just call it French toast because it involves eggs, milk and sugar; something the French put in nearly ever perfect sugary concoction they make. Maybe it’s just called French toast in America because our idea of toast is sliced bread cooked under, over or between hot burning coils until it’s well….toasted.
It’s only after we toast our dry bread that we add butter, jams, eggs and perhaps the occasional lather of mayonaisse, tomato and crushed fritos…Don’t ask.

Despite the origin of it’s name..and I send up a big heart felt thanks to whoever invented it, French toast was definitely on the menu for today.

And I knew just what to do with it.

I was in no mood for recipe books or websites. I just wanted to throw something together that would satisfy my lemon cream craving and get some yummy food in the bellies of the boys before cries of “I’m starving to death” started echoing through the house. 

I ended up with a wonderful twist on a morning favorite that resulted in thumbs up all around and it’s another mass starvation was avoided once again.

Lemon Cream French Toast w/ Blueberry Compote

Ingredients:

Toast: – for 4

8 slices of thick cut bread – a couple of days old or no longer soft to the touch
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1/8 cup sugar
1 tsp lemon extract or fresh lemon juice
1 Tbs apple pie spice or ground cinnamon

Blueberry Compote:

1 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tbs cornstarch dissolved with a little water
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries.

Lemon Cream:

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
3 Tbs sugar
4 Tbs butter slightly softened
1 Tsp lemon extract of fresh lemon juice

Preparations:

Lemon Cream:

Whip butter with mixer until thick and creamy
Add whipping cream, sugar and lemon and whip until thick and fluffy
Adjust as desired and set aside.

Toast:

Combine all ingredients minus the bread into a flat bottomed baking dish or bowl.
Set griddle or pan on medium heat.
Saturate bread in mixture and cook as normal until golden brown and cooked through.

While toast is cooking, prepare compote.

Compote:

Add water and sugar to sauce pan and cook on medium heat until sugar dissolves and mixture begins to thicken.
Add cornstarch a little at a time until compote reaches desired thickness.
Add blue berries and heat through until compote is thick but falls easily off wooden spoon.

To Plate:

Place two slices cooked toast on plate. Top both with cream sauce, topping off with compote and a sprinkling of powdered sugar.


CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE

2 responses to this post.

  1. >Fantastic recipe! That's strange, because I've also been craving something lemony lately. Maybe it's the rise in temperatures? I was thinking more along the lines of a creamy pasta with lemon and asparagus. Yum, yum… I really need to make my lemon pasta, and the delicious-looking lemon french toast asap!

    Reply

  2. >Your lemon pasta sounds wonderful as well. Maybe the lemon cravings are due to the fact Spring/Summer are finally here. Looking forward to your pasta recipe Haleigh and let me know how the French Toast comes out – an anglaise sauce infused w/ lemon was my first choice for this but I didn't have time with "starving" boys. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

