>The Basics

>I have a confession to make; I wasn’t going to write a post tonight.
I had one planned out but tonight wasn’t a stellar night and I’m a complete Miss Cranky-pants. In no mood to blog.

But then I asked Jessica at How Sweet Eats Blog if she writes a post every day, even if she’s had a bad day and she said “Always”.

Being she’s a veteran at blogging with a faithful following and myself a newbie with a long way to grow, I thought it was sound advice.

That is if one word can be considered advice. I took it as such. So although I’m still cranky and kinda bummed a blogging I will go.

I needed to bake today in spite of work. But I needed to bake something simple. No even more than that. I needed to bake something basic and necessary.

Bread.

Fresh, hand kneaded, warm baked bread.

My weakness is basic unbleached white.

Instead of the two loaves my recipe usually makes, I made one loaf and two baguettes.

The making is therapeutic.
The waiting is impossible.
The baking is sensorial bliss and the eating….

Let’s just say I only had the patience to snap a photo with my iPhone before cutting off a warm delicious slice.


And where fresh bread is

Butter is not far behind; and in case you don’t know yet…..

I LOVE butter!

Basic White Bread

6 cups unbleached bread flour
2 tsp salt
1 Tbs active dry yeast
2 cups warm water.
1/2 tsp sugar
3 Tbs softened butter.

Preparations

Combine sugar, yeast and a little of the warm water in a small bowl. Dissolve the yeast, cover and let sit until foamy

Combine Flour and salt.

Add yeast, remaining water and 2/3rds of flour in mixing bowl with dough hook. Mix until sticky and combined. Slowly add rest of flour and butter.

Mix on low until soft dough forms. If dough looks dry and breaks apart easy while mixing add teaspoons of water one at a time allowing each to become fully incorporated into dough before adding another.

Add just enough to form a soft dough that pulls away from the bowl.

Transfer dough to lightly floured counter or cutting board. Knead for 3-5 mins.

Form into round ball and place into a large bowl that has been lightly oiled. Cover bowl and let sit in warm area until double; about two hours.

Punch down risen dough and knead for another 3-4 minutes.

Separate dough into two equal parts, shaped into two loaf pans or one loaf pan and two baguettes.

Let rise in pans until double; about 45 mins.

Preheat oven to 425 and cook double loaves for 20 minutes. Then reduce heat to 350 for 15 minutes.

Loaves are done when they sound hollow on the bottom when tapped.

Brush with softened butter.

CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE

2 responses to this post.

  1. >I adore baking bread, it's therapeutic for me- much more so than baking cookies or treats. I think it's something about going through the process, the kneading, the smells, etc that relax me.

    Reply

  2. >Completely agree Haleigh. It's the same for me. I could never be a bread machine maker. –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

