>Mama’s Magical Shepherd Pie

>Recently we hopped on a broomstick…er I mean in the car and spent a few days at Universal Studios in Orlando. Our goal – The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

Now we love Disney, we sing Disney on the hilltops but when it comes to this little section of “Islands of Adventure”….. Universal out-Disneyed Disney. It’s nothing short of magically delicious…oh wrong magic man.

The Butter Beer alone is worth the admission fee..although I admit that would make for some pretty pricey thirst therapy. Seriously my sweet wonderous Butter Beer – you could just be worth it.

Even the NAME has Butter in it. It must be the most perfect beverage ever created.
I’m starting to think it was made just for me. All that hypnotizing creamy-soda-ish-root-beer-ish-butter-carmelly-topped-liquid-gold-with-foamy-whipped-creamy-spell-casting-instant-addiction-bliss. It simply must have been made for me, right?

Butter Beer…just thinking about it I want to jump in the car sprinkle it with pixie due (I know wrong park but I don’t care) and make that little Infiniti fly me right to the gate of that wondrous place. Let’s see 73 minutes….traffic is light…yes I could make it back home for bed.

Oh sorry…where was I..

RIGHT Harry Potter.

If the Butter Beer isn’t enough to satisfy, and trust me it is.. then the Fantastic Voyage ride inside Hogwarts castle is like nothing you’ve ever experienced. It’s beyond imagination..except well somebody or somebodies did imagine it because it exists so scratch that. I think you get tge point. Trust me this is a ride you actually WANT to get stuck waiting and hour in line fir. The queue itself is enchanting.

Anyway after shopping for all the necessities any budding young wizard needs, wand, magic robe, owl, chocolate frogs and completely disgusting jelly beans, …we stopped in at “The Three Broomsticks” for some very witchy-wizardly food and Medicine Man summoned up some Shepherd’s Pie.

It was delightful!

Of course I knew what was coming next…..wait for it…..

“Honey you need to make this.”

See told you it was coming.

So always ready to pounce on any foodie interest Medicine Man even raises his eyebrows at, back at home I set out to find a good Irish shepherd’s pie recipe and found one on BigOven.com (my one stop recipe shop).

Being my mother’s daughter of course I couldn’t leave it alone. I added a little of my own magic and
Bibbidy…bobbidy..boo! (or is that A-la-peanut-butter-sandwhiches!?)…VIOLA!

Mama’s Magical Shepherd’s Pie

Ingredients

2 lb. Ground beef, lean

1 C. Onion; diced

1 C. Carrots; diced

1 C. Green beans

1 C. Corn; fresh or frozen

2 Garlic cloves; minced

Salt; to taste

Pepper; to taste

1/2 tsp paprika

8 oz Beef broth

2 Tbs Butter; mixed with

2 Tbs Flour

5 medium Potatoes; cooked and mashed
3-4 Tbs Butter
1 1/2 Tbs Herbs de Province
Salt and Pepper to taste
Heavy whipping cream (added to potatoes to desired creaminess – usually 2-3 Tbs)


Preparation

Peel and dice potatoes into approximately 1″ cubes. Rinse with cold water. Cover potatoes with cold water and cook in microwave or in boiling water on stove for 15 minutes.

Cook ground beef in frying pan until brown with a little salt, pepper and fresh parsley if on hand.

Add onion, carrots, green beans, garlic, salt, pepper and paprika. (you can add corn into the mixture as I did or as a separate layer between the mashed potatoes and beef mixture).

Lower heat and cook for 10 minutes or until vegetables are wilted.

Add beef broth, bring to a boil.
Stir in enough of the butter/flour roux to make a thick gravy to bind the filling.

Pour into large shallow baking pan and cool. The filling should be about 1-1/2 inches deep.

Drain potatoes and add butter, salt, pepper, herbs de province & cream. Mash well.

Cover the meat mixture in the pan with the corn if not mixed in already and then top with the hot mashed potatoes.

Smooth potatoes evenly, brush surface with butter. Bake at 325 F for 35-40 minutes.

Serve and indulge!

Now Medicine Man is not a leftover man. He rarely ever is willing to dip into the fridge for something cooked, wrapped up and left to get cold only to be reheated another day.

I must say however, and shhhhh don’t mention it to him because I don’t think he’s noticed, ever since I’ve started cooking “real” food again he has been going for those leftovers more and more.

However one thing he never does is take leftovers to work……until Shepherds Pie. Not only did he take the rest of the first batch to work but he’s requested I make it specifically so he can take the rest to with him.

Now THAT is nothing short of magical!

All we need is the Butter Beer.

CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE

Leave a Reply

