>The Life of a Chicken

>
Chicken is a staple of the human diet. Whether fresh, frozen or processed into something unrecognizable it’s fairly inexpensive and rather easy to come by; great for us, not so much for the chickens.

So how is life like a chicken you ask?

Here’s a few ideas.

There are times when life feels mundane and we never seem to go anywhere; we just peck our way along until the next toss of corn only to turn our savage beaks on anyone who dares to take more than their fair share.

Maybe that’s how life is like chicken.

Or maybe we work work work our lives through only to have our heads lopped off, our feathers plucked and find ourselves roasted on a spit.

Maybe that’s how life is like chicken.

I’ve felt like a chicken lately, pre-roast that it. My life has evolved around work; every day is like the one before, including weekends. If I don’t burn both ends of my tail feathers I get behind; then clients complain and then I find myself being chased by a manager wielding a virtual pencil that looks a like like a machete; ready to lop my head off.

Sigh.

I find at times when work overwhelms us or just like in general we need to stop and take a deep breath, reorganize and prioritize. There truly are only so many eggs you can lay in one day and if production can’t keep up with demand then the Coop Keepers will just have to buy, I mean hire, more chickens.

Life is about balance and in America especially that balance fell off the scales a long time ago. We work twice as hard as chickens in other countries, spend far less time with our families and lay far fewer eggs, are subject to higher rates of disease and most feel completely baked before we’ve been plucked.

stock photo

America is a chicken mill.

We don’t always feel like we have control over the crazy mentality of “living to work” but honestly we do. Recently I discovered what rare moments of free time I have I was wasting on mindless activities that brought no value to my life.

I immediately discontinued them all. Cold turkey.. er chicken.

Next I started paying attention to HOW I was working and realized I pecked and scratched my way through many things at once only to find I rarely completed any of them in a timely manner.

Now I try to focus on one task at a time and let me tell you that is no easy thing for a chicken with ADD. I also picked up several “getting-things-done” helpers. A couple of programs for my MAC and the iPod series by “Get It Done Guy” which is very helpful.

When it comes to organization I can arrange physical items such as a kitchen, a closet or and office like nobody’s business; but organizing tasks and to do’s – just kill me now. If at all possible make it quick.

I feel I am making sense of my existence in this chicken coop now and taking advantage of my precious free time whenever possible. I can’t control how many birds work in the same coop with me and there are days that I still have to work through Saturday…and Sunday but at times like that I do my best, make purposeful decisions to find moments of bliss when I can; remind myself that in the end I’m still human and go cook a chicken.

Here is a chicken recipe I invented on the fly tonight.
It was a delicious reminder that I am still in control of my life and the direction it goes.

Life is about finding inspiration in the mundane and savoring the feast that is available when you follow those inspirations.

So go forth little hens and roosters; reorganize and prioritize and most of all…enjoy the chicken.

The Good-Life Roast Chicken


1 – 5 lb roaster chicken
1 – apple, thick sliced
1 – plum, thick sliced
1 – onion, cut lengthwise into 8ths
1/4 c. – rum
1/4 c. – white wine or vermouth
2 Tbs – fresh cut sage or 1 Tbs dry sage
1 Tbs – rosemary
1 clove – garlic minced
3 Tbs – unwanted butter sliced into pats
Salt
Pepper

1. Clean chicken thoroughly and preserve giblets. Rub inside and outside of chicken liberally with salt and pepper.

2. Place chicken, breast up, in roaster pan.

3. Stuff chicken cavity with half of the plum, apple and onion. Spread the other have of fruit and onion in pan; tucking slices into wings and under bird.

4. Pour rum and wine over the top of the chicken, add a little salt and pepper if it washes off.

5. Rub rest of spices on chicken and top with several pats of butter.

(Butter Pat: bird can be prepared up to this point in advance to allow the chicken to marinate and absorb the flavors if fruit and rum.)

6. Cover bird lightly with aluminum foil and cook in oven preheated to 350 for 25 minutes per pound.

7. Baste every so often removing foil at last 30 minutes to allow to brown.

8. Serve with buttered noodles, rice or potatoes and a colorful vegetable. Pan drippings can be used to make a delicious gravy if so desired.

9. Giblets and chicken bones can be used to make chicken stock.

Enjoy and
Keep it “real”

CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE 

Leave a Reply

