>So-Easy Souffle

>
There are times in our lives where we must tread lightly, pay close attention to the details and be oh so careful. When we are then at those times even the biggest struggles turn out for the good or we soar to heights of great joy or success. However if we aren’t careful, we don’t follow the recipe perfectly the next thing you know it’s all falling miserably to the bottom of the pan.Have you ever had one of these moments? How did it turn out?

For some people the idea of making a souffle is terrifying. Ok maybe not THAT bad but at the very least…intimidating. There is however something quintessentially satisfying when you open the oven and pull out a tall, light, fluffy tower of perfection.
In France it is said the souffle is the “mark” of a good cook. It is not however something many cooks dare to undertake though.
I say, start small and start with something basic….something easy. Then grow on your success.

I’ve made souffles and nearly jumped for joy when they turned out picture perfect. I did however make small individual souffles since I like to make individual portion size desserts.

It was however just recently I made my first souffle and there was no baking involved.
Chocolate is a weakness of mine…imagine that, a woman who loves chocolate, hard to believe I know. So when I came across a recipe for chocolate souffles I knew I had to make them. When I first started http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=lianalobu-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0375710515&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrreading about French eating and getting back to real food the first book I purchased was “French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano.
She provides some wonderful authentic French recipes and to my surprise I found most were simple to make. It was here I found the little treasure of chocolate Espresso souffles.
The only cooking involved was melting the chocolate, which I was pretty confident I could handle.
It’s a refrigerated dessert and almost fool proof.

My friend Rebecca Consenza has asked me several times for this recipe, so without further ado, here you go Rebecca. I hope you enjoy it.

Chocolate Espresso Faux Souffles

8 oz – Dark chocolate
(Butter Pat: only use good chocolate. I buy bars of Godiva or Lindt dark chocolate 60% or higher cocao. If you want them a little sweeter use a light percent)
4 – egg whites
salt – dahs
4 – egg yolks
2 Tbs – strong esspresso coffe
(Butter Pat: You can omit this or replace it with a tsp of extract. orange, almond or raspberry are all excellent)

1. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler set over a pan of simmering water on medium to low heat.

2. Beat the egg white with a pinch of salt until stiff, glossy peaks are formed.

3. Whisk the egg yolks into the melted chocolate and stir in the coffee. Gently fold in 1/3 of the whites, and then fold in the rest.

4. Pour the mixture into ramekins and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 2-4 hours before serving.
(Butter Pat: These are a bit strong and unlike American chocolate desserts not to be eaten in large portions. I make mine in 2 or 3 oz ramekins and find they are the perfect serving.”

Don’t be afraid to try new things or to attempt something that looks intimidating. If you can start small and work your way up the ladder of success one souffle at a time. Anything worth doing is worth trying and when you fail you brush off the flour and start again.
Next thing you know you will be beaming over that perfectly light, towering souffle of perfection.

Whatever form it may take in your life.

CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE


Leave a Reply

